Graduate Program in Molecular Engineering

Dean and Pritzker Director
Matthew Tirrell

David Awschalom
Andrew Cleland
Juan J. de Pablo
Giulia Galli
Supratik Guha
Jun Huang
Jeffrey Hubbell
Nancy Kawalek
Paul Nealey
Melody Swartz
Savas Tay

The Doctoral Program in Molecular Engineering

The Institute for Molecular Engineering attracts students from a range of disciplines--materials science, physics, chemical and biological engineering, and more--to collaborate in problem-specific areas. Through training in fundamental principles across multiple fields, the IME provides the foundation critical for communicating, engaging, and leading across traditional boundaries.

At the center of the IME is a growing team of world-class researchers from diverse science and engineering disciplines who take a hands-on approach to mentoring students and cultivating relationships with industriali and academic partners--resulting in exciting discoveries, new technologies, and innovative solutions.

The William Eckhardt Research Center includes cutting-edge clean rooms, molecular imaging facilities, biomolecular research labs, and a wet-lab for nanofabrication and other materials work. In addition, the majority of IME faculty members have joint appointments at the Argonne National Laboratory and therefore have access to numerous superb facilities in areas including scattering, imagining, and computation.


Rovana Popoff
Senior Associate Dean and Dean of Students

David Taylor
Associate Dean of Students

Prof. Juan de Pablo
Director of Graduate Studies

Socialize With Us